Tags

, , , ,

When I was much younger, I was an ovo-lacto vegetarian.  This lasted for 6 years and the only reason I changed my habits was because I went to culinary school.  It had crossed my mind that it would be hypocritical of me to say that I’m sure the food is great, though I won’t eat anything on the plate, soooooo- this recipe is one of my favorites from a vegetarian cookbook that my parents got me when I was about 14.

This is a chili that I’ve gotten people who hate vegetarian dishes to love and to feel full at the end.  As always, make sure that you are catering to your own tastes.  The seasoning in the recipe is basic and if you should want to spice it up or down, it would still taste great 🙂  I will be serving this with some no-knead whole wheat bread and oatmeal raisin cookies tonight!

Ingredients-
2 cups great northern beans, prepared (canned work great for this!)
1 T. olive oil
1 T. minced garlic
2 onions, chopped
2 cups coarsely chopped zucchini
1 cup chopped carrots (frozen works well)
1 cup chopped fennel
1 cup chopped celery
2 T. chopped canned green chili peppers (You can use a fresh jalapeno or two as well 🙂  )
4 cups vegetable stock (you can use bouillon cubes for this)
1/2 cup chopped fresh flat leaf parsley (1/4 c. dried parsley will work just fine!)
2 T. chopped fresh thyme (1 T. dried thyme is good too!)
1 T. ground cumin
1 T. garlic powder
1 tsp. chili powder
2 tsp. soy sauce
1/4 tsp ground red pepper
1 cup drained canned corn
 
Instructions-
1. If using dried beans, follow the instructions for preparation on the bag.  The beans need to be tender.  Drain and set aside once that is done.
2. In a 4-quart saucepan over medium heat, warm the oil.  Add the onions, zucchini, carrots, fennel, and celery.  Cook, stirring frequently, for 4 to 5 minutes, or until tender.  Stir in the beans and chili peppers; cook for 1 minute.
3. Stir in the stock, parsley, thyme, cumin, soy sauce and red pepper; bring to a boil.  Simmer for 1 hour. With the back of a wooden spoon, mash about 1 cup of the beans into a paste. Stir in the corn. Simmer for 30 minutes, or until the chili thickens.
