Tags

, ,

As we lead up to the big T, I would wager a guess that you are frantically trying to get your house ready for guests or make some side dishes.  For those who do not procrastinate- it’s a bit annoying to have to wait until it’s actually time to cook the bird, it’s it?  This is a day when I am well known for wanting to go WAY overboard because it’s just how I was raised and I have been reminded many a times to slow my roll as I eye the artichokes and shallots.

In a big way, if there isn’t a 30 pound turkey, 12 different side dishes, and 4 kinds of desert being serves at 2 pm on Thanksgiving- I just don’t feel right.  That has had to change drastically in the past 3 years and I cannot deny, I was a moody wreck the first time I did a simple T-Day dinner.  There was only one pie, there was no green bean casserole, there was no holiday for me until I turned on the television and saw the Macy’s Parade.

Soo many things happen on Thanksgiving Day that don’t involve eating and spending money that I’m amazed at how much the meal had taken over my idea of what the holiday should be.  Needless to say, I have so thoroughly enjoyed the past few ‘simple’ T-Day’s that I don’t know if I want to go back to the craziness.  I ask you, how many left-overs can you truly stomach?  This holiday I challenge you to take a look around and truly see what this day is about.  Enjoy the company of your family and friends and start some new, more frugal, traditions such as a call around to all of the people who couldn’t make it so that you can brag about how much better your turkey is than theirs!  Make it a point to go out and participate in your towns celebrations (you know one exisits- go find it!) or even start the first annual Thanksgiving theater hop so that you can chat around the water cooler about some of the new movies (disclaimer: I do not condone going into a theater and not paying for each movie you see……..).

Whatever you decide upon, it must involve at least 3 other people and you must enjoy yourself!  For those of you who are not Americans- this applies to many over done holidays all around the world, so get on it.  Have a safe and happy holiday everyone and hug the ones you love!

